Feminism and Race in America Part 2

Loading Events

« All Events

Feminism and Race in America Part 2

July 19 @ 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm

by Jacqueline Hale

Participants will relearn and redefine what feminism means to them throughout a 3 session conversation on feminism and race. In the first session, we will discuss our experiences with feminism and race through the lens of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s TED talk on “How To Be A Feminist.” We will then look at powerful women in the music industry (Taylor Swift and Beyoncé), and look at the similarities and differences in their careers and public perceptions due to their race and sex. Finally, we will look at women through the male gaze, by watching two of Spike Lee’s films and analyzing how he portrays women. These conversations will hopefully aid us to getting a greater understanding of female and male perceptions of femininity, as well as try to grasp the understanding of the experience of black and white women in the media.

Attendees are expected to have watched these titles:
“Homecoming” by Beyonce https://www.netflix.com/title/81013626
“Miss Americana” – Taylor Swift  https://www.netflix.com/title/81028336
The Man- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AqAJLh9wuZ0
If I Were A Boy- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AWpsOqh8q0M

Note: Discussion times listed are Eastern timezone. Please adjust according to your location:
3:00pm Eastern | 2:00pm Central | 1:00pm Mountain | 12:00pm Pacific/Arizona
.

Details

Date:
July 19
Time:
3:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Event Category:

Register

Join one other person

Loading gif

Already registered?

Use this tool to manage your registration.